Orkney Tour
See tours

Leaving from Inverness

Orkney tours from Inverness: three days, two nights on the islands

Two Orkney tours from Inverness are bookable here, and both take three days: a small coach north along the coast, the ferry over the Pentland Firth, two nights on the islands and the long road back. One costs $654 per person, the other $779. This page lays out each day, where you sleep and what the price covers.

Two pointed sea stacks below tall green-topped cliffs, with a wide grass field in front

Quick answer

The short answer. For most people the $654 trip is the one to book. It is our top pick, it holds 4.8 across 87 reviews, it adds Maeshowe to Skara Brae, and its guesthouse and B&B rooms are all en suite. Choose the $779 trip, rated 4.9 from 25 reviews, if you want more coast: the Yesnaby Cliffs, the Brough of Birsay when the tide allows, Dunrobin Castle and Duncansby Head. Neither of the Orkney tours from Inverness is a day out; both spend two nights on Orkney.

Orkney tours from Inverness at a glance

Trips from Inverness
2both sold as three days
Price
$654 and $779per person
On Orkney
2 nightsthe rest is the road north and back
Group
Up to 16live guide in English
Where you meet
Central Invernessby the cathedral or the Victorian Market
Back in Inverness
Early eveningabout 19:00, or 6pm
Ferry
Pentland Firth crossingon the route; fare not stated
Maeshowe
On one tripthe $654 trip
Meals
Not mentionedbudget for your own food
Minimum age
5 yearson both trips
Reviews
11287 and 25
Cancellation
Free cancellationon both listings

Two trips, one road

How Orkney tours from Inverness are built

The same road north and the same two nights on the islands, with different stops.

Both Orkney tours from Inverness follow the same shape. Day one is the drive north along the Highland coast to John o' Groats and the crossing of the Pentland Firth. Day two is spent on Orkney, among the Neolithic sites of the West Mainland. Day three crosses back and works down the mainland coast to reach Inverness by early evening. Both are small-group trips limited to 16 people, both are led by a live guide in English, and both start in the centre of Inverness, so you need no car of your own to reach the islands.

The differences are in the detail. The $654 trip crosses from Gills Bay, spends both nights in Kirkwall, and on day two adds Maeshowe, the chambered cairn where Vikings carved their runes in the 12th century. The $779 trip gives that time to the coast instead: the sea stacks of Yesnaby, the tidal Brough of Birsay, and on the way home Duncansby Head, the harbour at Lybster and the cathedral town of Dornoch.

Day by day

The Skara Brae and Maeshowe trip, day by day

From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney Islands & Skara Brae Tour, $654 per person. Meet at the bus stop next to Inverness Cathedral on Ardross Street, 15 minutes before departure.

  • Day 1: the coast, the ferry and Kirkwall

    Up the northeast Highland coastline to John o' Groats, the most northerly village on the Scottish mainland, then the ferry from Gills Bay over the Pentland Firth. On Orkney you stop at the Italian Chapel, then reach Kirkwall, with the evening for its cathedral and old winding streets.

  • Day 2: the Neolithic heart of Orkney

    The 5,000-year-old village of Skara Brae, the stone circle at Brodgar, the standing stones of Stenness, and the cairn of Maeshowe, where 12th-century Vikings left one of the largest collections of Norse runic inscriptions. Then back to Kirkwall for the second night.

  • Day 3: Caithness, Sutherland and home

    Time in Kirkwall for gifts and a last look at the cathedral, then the ferry back. The road south runs through Caithness and Sutherland, with the story of the Highland clearances and remote fishing villages. You are back in Inverness at about 19:00.

Day by day

The Far North trip, day by day

From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney & Far North Adventure, $779 per person. Meet 15 minutes early across from the Victorian Market entrance and look for a blue or yellow bus.

  • Day 1: Dunrobin, John O'Groats and the crossing

    North along the coast to Dunrobin Castle and its views over the Moray Firth, then the North Coast 500 to John O'Groats, the most northerly point of the UK mainland, and over the Pentland Firth. Time on your own in Kirkwall for St Magnus Cathedral; your room by late afternoon.

  • Day 2: stone circles, Skara Brae and the cliffs

    The Standing Stones of Stenness, one of Britain's oldest stone circles, then the Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae, a 5,000-year-old village hidden under sand dunes until 1850. Then the sea stacks of the Yesnaby Cliffs and, if the tide allows, the Brough of Birsay.

  • Day 3: the Italian Chapel and the road south

    A local farm with woolly Mangalitsa pigs, then the Italian Chapel, built by Italian prisoners of war during WWII. After the ferry back: Duncansby Head, the fishing village of Lybster and the old town of Dornoch. The listing gives a 6pm return; the order of stops may change.

Where you sleep

Two nights on Orkney: where you sleep

Two nights on the islands on both trips; only one listing describes the rooms.

Both Orkney tours from Inverness spend two nights on the islands. The $654 trip says the most about the rooms: small, locally owned guesthouses and B&Bs, all en suite, with both nights in Kirkwall. The listing is open that B&Bs usually sit on the edge of town, so allow a 20 to 30 minute walk to pubs and restaurants, and there are no lifts.

The $779 listing says only that you reach your accommodation by late afternoon on day one; it does not name the town or the type of room. Reviewers on that trip liked where they stayed. Sandra from Austria: «The accommodations were just perfect, right in the middle of Kirkwall.» On the $654 trip, Emily from Australia was more mixed: «The accommodation wasn’t fabulous but in a great position in the township of Kirkwall.»

Along the way

What the three days look like

Stone houses, a red cathedral and a painted chapel: the kind of stops both trips make.

A stone dresser with two shelves against a curved wall of flat stones, sand on the floor

Inside a stone house

A stone dresser with two shelves stands against a curved wall of stacked flat stones, with upright slabs and round stones on the sandy floor and grass along the rim above.

A red and yellow sandstone cathedral with a rose window and spire, a gravel path between gravestones

Red stone and old graves

A long cathedral of red and yellow sandstone, with a round rose window and a tall spire, is reached by a gravel path between rows of weathered gravestones.

A white altar under a painted half-dome, seen through a black wrought-iron screen

A painted altar

A white altar stands under a painted half-dome between two stained-glass windows, seen through the curls of an ornate black wrought-iron screen.

Ferry, tickets, food

The ferry, the entry fees and the meals

What the listings say, and what they leave out.

The ferry crossing is part of the route on both Orkney tours from Inverness: the $654 trip boards at Gills Bay, and both cross the Pentland Firth on day one and back on day three. What neither listing says is whether the ferry fare is in the price. It is the one question worth asking through the booking page before you pay.

The same goes for the sites. The $654 trip visits Skara Brae and goes to Maeshowe, but the listing does not say whether entry to either is covered; the $779 trip visits Skara Brae and the Italian Chapel, with no word on entry fees either. On this site, the trip that states a Skara Brae entry fee in its price is the $157 day that meets the Scrabster to Stromness ferry, and that is one day on the islands, not a trip from Inverness. Meals are not mentioned in either listing, so plan to pay for your own food.

Every trip, current fare

Orkney tours from Inverness: prices side by side

Both trips from Inverness are priced per person. The last row is a single day on the islands that meets the ferry at Stromness, for anyone short of time.

TripPricePrice is forLengthWhat the price coversWhere it startsRating
Skara Brae and Maeshowe trip, our top pick$654per person3 daysSmall coach, live guide in English, two nights in en suite B&B or guesthouse rooms. Ferry fare and meals not statedBus stop by Inverness Cathedral, Ardross Street4.8 · 87
Far North trip$779per person2.5 days by the listingSmall-group trip, live guide in English, two nights on Orkney. Ferry fare and meals not statedAcross from the Victorian Market entrance, Inverness4.9 · 25
One day from the Stromness ferry$157per person5.5 hoursGuided day; Skara Brae and Skaill House entry fee included. Ferry fare not includedStromness Ferry Terminal car park4.8 · 223

From travellers

What travellers say about the two trips

Ratings and words from people who took the trips.

The $654 trip holds 4.8 across 87 reviews, the $779 trip 4.9 across 25. Most of the reviews we read praise the guide first and the range of sites second. Margaret Elizabeth from the United Kingdom, on the $654 trip: «Well-organised trip visiting many sights, including the amazing neolithic archaeology.» Tali from the United States, on the $779 trip: «The second day of the tour was the best. We loved all the historic Neolithic spots, especially Skara Brae (of course).»

One honest note. Glenys from Canada, on the $654 trip: «The range of sites was great but we were disappointed in the lack of time at Skara Brae». Day two on both trips fits several sites into one day, so the plan sets the time at each.

Before you book

Six things to check before you pay

A few minutes on the listing saves surprises on Orkney tours from Inverness.

  • Book early for the $654 trip

    The listing asks for bookings at least 14 days in advance.

  • The ferry fare

    Neither listing says whether the crossing is in the price. Ask before you pay.

  • Your bag

    20 kg in one carry-on-sized bag on the $654 trip; one 15 kg suitcase plus a carry-on on the $779 trip.

  • Being on time

    Both meet 15 minutes before departure in central Inverness. On the $779 trip, late arrivals cannot be refunded and the bus does not wait.

  • Your train or flight home

    The $779 listing calls return times approximate and asks you to allow at least 3 hours for onward travel.

  • Cancellation

    Both listings offer free cancellation. The deadline on longer trips can be well before the day, so check it on the booking page.

Our verdict

Our verdict: which trip from Inverness

Book the $654 trip if you want one answer: it is our top pick, rated 4.8 by 87 reviewers, the lower of the two prices, it adds Maeshowe to Skara Brae, Brodgar and Stenness, and all its rooms are en suite. Pay $125 more for the $779 trip if you would rather see more coast, from the Yesnaby Cliffs to Duncansby Head, and like its 4.9 from 25 reviews.

Book direct

Book one of the two Orkney tours from Inverness

Our top pick first. Both prices are per person.

From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney Islands & Skara Brae Tour
Our top pick3 days
3 days

From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney Islands & Skara Brae Tour

★ 4.8 · 87 reviews

  • Three days, Two nights in Kirkwall
  • Maeshowe and Skara Brae visits
  • En suite guesthouse and B&B rooms
  • Free cancellation
From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney & Far North Adventure
Rated 4.925 reviews
2.5 days

From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney & Far North Adventure

★ 4.9 · 25 reviews

  • 2.5 days, Ferry across the Pentland Firth
  • Italian Chapel and Skara Brae
  • Limited to 16 participants
  • Free cancellation

Common questions

Orkney tours from Inverness: common questions

Can you do Orkney as a day trip from Inverness?

Not with the trips on this site. The Orkney tours from Inverness here both take three days, with two nights on the islands. If you only have one day, the $157 tour meets the Scrabster to Stromness ferry at Stromness and returns you in time for the ferry back. It runs 5.5 hours, and the ferry fare is not included.

Is the ferry included in Orkney tours from Inverness?

The crossing is part of both routes: over the Pentland Firth on day one and back on day three, from Gills Bay on the $654 trip. Neither listing says whether the fare is in the price, so ask through the booking page before you pay.

Are Skara Brae and Maeshowe entry fees included?

Neither listing says. Both trips visit Skara Brae, and the $654 trip also goes to Maeshowe, but entry fees are not mentioned. On this site, only the $157 day from the Stromness ferry states that the Skara Brae and Skaill House entry fee is in the price.

Where do you stay on Orkney?

On the $654 trip, both nights are in Kirkwall, in small, locally owned guesthouses and B&Bs with en suite rooms, often a 20 to 30 minute walk from pubs and restaurants. The $779 listing says you reach your accommodation by late afternoon on day one, but does not name the town or the room type.

Are meals included?

Neither listing mentions meals, so plan to pay for your own food on all three days.

What luggage can I bring, and is there a minimum age?

On the $654 trip: one bag up to 20 kg (44 lbs), about 55 by 45 by 25 cm, plus a small personal bag; no children under five. On the $779 trip: one suitcase up to 15 kg (33 lbs) and one carry-on; minimum age five. On both, under-18s travel with an adult.

Go deeper

More guides to Orkney

From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney Islands & Skara Brae Tour

★ 4.8 · 87 reviews · 3 days

$654our top pick Check dates→