From Inverness: 3-Day Orkney Islands & Skara Brae Tour
★ 4.8 · 87 reviews
- Three days, Two nights in Kirkwall
- Maeshowe and Skara Brae visits
- En suite guesthouse and B&B rooms
- Free cancellation
Every tour, side by side
This Orkney Islands tour guide puts all eleven tours on this site in one place. Six are day tours on the islands, from Kirkwall, from the ferry at Stromness or with a pickup. Five start in Inverness or Edinburgh and spend two nights on Orkney. Prices run from $157 per person.

Quick answer
The short answer. Our top pick is the three-day Orkney Islands tour from Inverness at $654: two nights in Kirkwall, Maeshowe as well as Skara Brae, and 87 reviews at 4.8. Already on the islands with one day? The West Mainland day at $157 has 275 reviews at 4.9. Coming over on the Scrabster ferry, book the $157 tour that meets it at Stromness. For a guide to yourselves, the private five hours cost $1,316 for a group of up to three.
Two kinds of tour
Six day tours on Orkney, five tours that start in Inverness or Edinburgh.
Every Orkney Islands tour here is one of two kinds. The six day tours run on Orkney itself, five to eight hours long. The five multi-day tours start in Inverness or Edinburgh, cross to Orkney by ferry and spend two nights there.
That split decides most of the price. A day tour costs $157 to $249 per person, with one private day at $1,316 for a group of up to three. A multi-day tour costs $654 to $2,314 per person. A tour of Orkney islands, cliffs and stone circles looks much the same either way: Skara Brae is on nine of the eleven, and the Ring of Brodgar on ten, one of them as an optional stop.
Every tour, current fare
All eleven, with what each price covers as the listing states it.
| Tour | Price | Price is for | Length | Where it starts | What the price covers | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Mainland day | $157 | per person | 6 hours | Stand 5, Kirkwall Travel Centre | Guide and transport, up to 14 guests. Skara Brae 85 minutes. Entry fees not stated | 4.9 · 275 |
| Ferry day | $157 | per person | 5.5 hours | Stromness ferry terminal car park | Skara Brae and Skaill House entry. Ferry fare not included | 4.8 · 223 |
| Private full day | $212 | per person | 8 hours | Pickup at one of five points | Private guide, pickup and drop-off, Broch of Gurness and Unstan | 4.4 · 5 |
| Beaches and cliffs | $225 | per person | 6 hours | Kirkwall, or your cruise ship | Up to 7 guests. Beaches, Yesnaby, Bay of Skaill; stone circles optional | 4.8 · 21 |
| Private cruise-ship day | $249 | per person | 6 hours | Pickup included | Private guide, pick-up and drop-off, fully electric vehicle | 5.0 · 15 |
| Private five hours | $1,316 | group of up to 3 | 5 hours | Pickup in Kirkwall | Private guide for up to 3. Italian Chapel at extra fee | 5.0 · 50 |
| 3 days from Inverness, our top pick | $654 | per person | 3 days | By Inverness Cathedral, Ardross Street | Two nights in Kirkwall, en suite rooms, Maeshowe. Meals not stated | 4.8 · 87 |
| 3 days from Inverness | $779 | per person | 2.5 days | Opposite the Victorian Market, Inverness | Two nights on Orkney, Yesnaby, Italian Chapel. Meals not stated | 4.9 · 25 |
| 5 days from Edinburgh | $1,257 | per person | 5 days | Parliament Square, Royal Mile | Two nights in Kirkwall, Maeshowe, Churchill Barriers. Single room option | 4.8 · 22 |
| 5 days with the north coast | $1,294 | per person | 5 days | Edinburgh | Two nights in Kirkwall, en suite rooms, Maeshowe. Meals not stated | 4.9 · 30 |
| 8 days with the North Coast 500 | $2,314 | per person | 7.5 days | Edinburgh | Orkney on days 2 to 4, two nights. Meals not stated | 5.0 · 6 |
On the islands
Most Orkney island tours from Kirkwall start in town or collect you there; one meets the ferry at Stromness.
Up to 14 guests from the Kirkwall Travel Centre. Skara Brae with a guide for 85 minutes, Brodgar, Stenness, Yesnaby and the Earl’s Palace at Birsay. 275 reviews at 4.9.
Meets the Scrabster–Stromness ferry and returns you in time for the ferry back. Skara Brae and Skaill House entry is in the price; the ferry fare is not. Not meant for cruise passengers. 223 reviews at 4.8.
Up to seven guests: Waukmill Bay, Stromness, Yesnaby, the Bay of Skaill and the Brough of Birsay, with the stone circles as optional last stops. 21 reviews at 4.8.
Your own guide, pick-up and drop-off, a fully electric vehicle, and Neolithic, Viking and wartime sites tailored to you. 15 reviews at 5.0.
Pickup at one of five points. Skara Brae for 1.5 hours, Unstan, the Italian Chapel and the Broch of Gurness. 5 reviews at 4.4.
Pickup in Kirkwall. Skara Brae with a guide for an hour, Brodgar, Stenness, Unstan and Yesnaby; the Italian Chapel at extra fee. 50 reviews at 5.0.
From Inverness or Edinburgh
The Orkney Islands tours from Inverness take three days; the Orkney Islands tours from Edinburgh take five or eight. All five cross by ferry and spend two nights on the islands.
Boards the ferry at Gills Bay and stays two nights in Kirkwall, in small en suite guesthouses and B&Bs. Day two covers Skara Brae, Brodgar, Stenness and Maeshowe. 87 reviews at 4.8.
Passes John o’ Groats and crosses the Pentland Firth. Two nights on Orkney with St Magnus Cathedral, Skara Brae, Yesnaby, the Brough of Birsay if the tide allows, and the Italian Chapel. 25 reviews at 4.9.
Glen Coe and Loch Ness on the way up, then the ferry near John o’ Groats and two nights in Kirkwall. Skara Brae, Brodgar, Stenness and Maeshowe; back by Ullapool. 30 reviews at 4.9.
From the Royal Mile by Glen Coe and Inverness. On Orkney: the Italian Chapel, the Churchill Barriers (on no other tour here), Maeshowe and Skara Brae, two nights in Kirkwall. 22 reviews at 4.8.
Orkney on days two to four: the Italian Chapel, Brodgar, Skara Brae and Stromness, with two nights on the islands. The rest is the North Coast 500, Eilean Donan and Glen Coe. 6 reviews at 5.0.
On the ground
Four frames from the stops these tours share.
A path above stone houses sunk into the grass, a turquoise bay behind.
A white altar under a painted vault, seen through curling ironwork.
Two sharp sea stacks off a line of dark cliffs, across a green field.
A straight road runs along a narrow causeway between two stretches of blue water.
What the price covers
Skara Brae entry is in the price on one tour; for the rest, check the listing.
Read the listings closely and only one Orkney Islands tour states that entry is in the price: the $157 tour that meets the ferry includes Skara Brae and Skaill House. The others visit Skara Brae without saying who pays at the door, and none of the three multi-day tours with Maeshowe says its ticket is covered.
The ferry is part of the route on all five multi-day tours, but no listing says the fare is in the price. On the ferry day, ferry fares are not included. No listing says meals are included, on any tour. Pam from the United Kingdom, on the ferry day: «Take a packed lunch as it gets very busy to find food.»
Who books what
Match the tour to how you arrive and how many days you have.
The West Mainland day at $157, with the most reviews on this site.
For a day trip to Orkney islands from Thurso, book the $157 tour that meets the Scrabster ferry at Stromness. Skara Brae entry is in the price; buy the ferry fare yourself.
Of the Orkney Islands cruise tours here, the private $249 day includes pick-up and the beaches day offers collection from the ship.
The private five hours at $1,316 for up to three, or the private full day at $212 per person with five pickup points.
Three days at $654, our top pick, or at $779 with Yesnaby and the Brough of Birsay.
Five days at $1,257 or $1,294, or eight days at $2,314 if you also want the North Coast 500.
What reviewers say
If you are reading up on Orkney Islands tourism, the reviews say more than any brochure. Here is how two travellers rated their Orkney Islands tour. On the West Mainland day, z from the United States wrote: «Great selection of sites. Good pacing for that group. Answered a bunch of questions and provided many insights during the drive.»
On the private five hours, bryn from the United States: «Fascinating tour of the relics and mysteries from 5000 years ago on these islands. Guide was very well informed and enthusiastic about the subject.»
Our verdict
Book the three-day Orkney Islands tour from Inverness at $654 if you can give it three days: two nights in Kirkwall, Maeshowe as well as Skara Brae, and 87 reviews at 4.8. It is our top pick. With one day on the islands, take the West Mainland day at $157. Arriving by ferry, the $157 ferry day. For a private guide, the five hours at $1,316 for up to three, rated 5.0 by 50 reviewers.
Book direct
Our top pick, the West Mainland and ferry days, and the private five hours.
★ 4.8 · 87 reviews
★ 4.9 · 275 reviews
★ 4.8 · 223 reviews
★ 5.0 · 50 reviews
Common questions
Not on this site. From Inverness the tours take three days, at $654 or $779 per person, with two nights on Orkney. With one day, take a day tour on the islands.
On one: the $157 tour that meets the Scrabster–Stromness ferry includes Skara Brae and Skaill House entry. The other listings do not say whether entry is in the price.
The crossing is part of the route on all five multi-day tours, but no listing says the fare is in the price. On the ferry day tour the fare is clearly not included.
Two nights in Kirkwall on four of the five. The $654 tour and the five days at $1,294 use small en suite guesthouses and B&Bs. No listing says meals are included.
85 minutes on the West Mainland day, 1.5 hours on the ferry day and on the private full day, and an hour on the private five hours.
All eleven listings offer free cancellation. The cancellation window is longer on some multi-day tours, so check the listing before you pay.
Go deeper
The one-day tours on the islands, compared by start, hours and stops.
From InvernessThe three-day tours from Inverness, and what each day covers.
From EdinburghThe five- and eight-day tours from Edinburgh that cross to Orkney.
Skara BraeThe stone village by the bay, and which tours give you time inside.
From a cruise shipTours that mention ships calling at Kirkwall, and what fits a port day.